Agnes Peresztegi

Ms. Peresztegi is a renowned attorney in the field of World War II looted art litigation in Europe and in the United States.

She has over 20 years’ experience in advising non-profit organizations on restitution claims, and in representing Holocaust survivors and heirs.  She has been a forceful advocate for meaningful changes in the way governments and museums identify and publicize problematic art and arrange for their return to the rightful owners.

Ms. Peresztegi has testified before the United States Senate judiciariy committee and was instrumental in the lobbying effort that led to the enactment of the Holocaust Expropriated Art Recovery (HEAR) Act of 2016.

Ms. Peresztegi was a Member of the Advisory Council on Nazi-Confiscated and Looted Cultural Property of the European Shoah Legacy Institute (“ESLI”), and she served as a member of the “Schwabing Art Trove” Taskforce, established to assist with the review of the artworks found in Ms. Gurlitt’s home, which were suspected of having been confiscated by the Nazis from their owners.

Ms. Peresztegi is licensed to practice in New York, in Hungary and in Paris (registered foreign attorney).

Agnes Peresztegi

Me Peresztegi est une avocate de renom dans le domaine du contentieux dans l’art spolié pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Europe et aux États-Unis.

Elle a plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le conseil aux organisations à but non lucratif sur les demandes de restitution et dans la représentation des survivants et des héritiers de l’Holocauste. Elle a plaidé pour que des changements significatifs soient apportés à la manière dont les gouvernements et les musées identifient et font connaître les œuvres d’art problématiques et organisent leur restitution aux propriétaires légitimes.

Mme Peresztegi a témoigné devant le comité de la justice du Sénat des États-Unis et a joué un rôle déterminant dans les efforts de lobbying qui ont conduit à la promulgation de la loi de 2016 sur la récupération des oeuvres d’art spoliés (Holocaus Expropriated Art Recovery Act).

Mme Peresztegi était membre du Conseil consultatif sur les biens culturels confisqués par les nazis et pillés de l’Institut européen de la shoah («ESLI»), et membre du groupe de travail «Schwabing Art Trove», fondée pour procéder à l’examen des œuvres d’art trouvées au domicile de M. Gurlitt, qui pourraient avoir été confisquées à leurs propriétaires par des nazis.

Mme Peresztegi est autorisée à exercer à New York, en Hongrie et à Paris (avocat communautaire).